Shinjitsu wo Shitteiku Monogatari, translated

Hello everyone!

I've translated the title song of the album, which you can find here. This concludes my work on this album and if you missed reading any of the other songs, you can find them here or in the Lyrics section on this website under albums^^.

I have noticed a running theme on this album of colours (generally black or white, sometimes red), and being drowned, faded, covered, or disappearing into said colour. Thus I thought it only appropriate to go through all of them once I've finished translating, so I'd like to do that here for anyone interested. Only two songs don't seem to fit this mold, Nokosareta sekai and Kanashimi ha boku he no batsu de.:

1. Masshiro na yami ga subete wo nurikaete mo
"Even if the pure white darkness were to repaint everything". The title itself is a massive reference to the reccuring theme. The lyrics themselves also randomly bring up words like colour, snow, and getting swallowed up.

2. Koboreochiteiku mirai
In the chorus we see the line "subete ga yami ni kiete mo" even if everything where to disappear into darkness. Moreover the word crimson 真っ赤 appears in a later verse.

3. Akai ito ha kakushita mama
The colour red simply appears a number of times in this song. The red string of fate, red lips. One could argue that being intoxicated by red lips is a little like drowning in the colour.

4. Sakura
This one is a little delicate, just like the song itself, but I present you this line: dancing like snow falling in spring, the flower petals melt into me. Do you see it? I sure do^^

6. Kuroi umi
I have nothing to add, the title speaks for itself.

7. Owaranu namida no umi de
The song speaks of a metaphorical sea (of tears) in which the protagonists are drowning and at a critical point in the song, Sono sings this line, "There's nothing here. Everything in sight has been dyed black". giving a colour to the water engulfing him.

9. Ryuusei no ame
In one of the earlier verses, Sono sings this line "when I close my eyes pretending I can't see it, I stand in the pitch-black darkness". Later Sono refers to the light from the falling stars as a pure white in the chorus, using the colour white twice: "Lighting up this world, I want to be touched by the pure white light, and melt away", and "I want to be saved by the pure whiteness,  and melt away".

10. Hakanaku kieru ai no sanka
The song opens with the line "the dark night swallowed us and faded away all colour", and the words darkness and light both appear in later verses as well.

11. Shinjitsu wo shitteiku monogatari
One of the lines featured in the lyrics is "we are lost in the pitch-black darkness", and later another line goes "it is through just the congregation of lives that this world shines in light" (giving Gloria vibes, in my opinion). I would like to point out a word in chorus because it may not stand out if you are not familiar with Japanese, iroaseru (to fade), containt the kanji for colour,. I do think this matters.

As a final sidenote. When it comes to words like pitch black or pure white, when we want to point out that a colour is in its most deep and vivid shade, generally the kanjiis added, 真っ黒, 真っ白, 真っ赤 and so on and so forth. You may have noticed this is the same kanji that appears in 真実, shinjitsu. I just thought this was a funny little coincidence.

Furthermore words like shinjitsu (truth) and shinjiru (believing, trusting) appear often in this album, as do words referring to time, the flow of it, the end, the past, the present, and the future. The tense of verbs in repeated verses changing from their past tense to the present or future.

I will of course continue translating other things at my own pace and you can always feel free to reach out to me on any of my social media listed at the bottom of this page if you have any questions or requests. I love taking requests, so please do send in any you have!

Much love,

Eva